Highfive has supported meeting recordings for a long time, but it was only more recently that we were able to offer support for storing recordings in G Suite Drive.
Advantages of Google Drive Storage
There are several reasons why you might be interested in setting your Highfive recordings to be stored in Google Drive instead of with Highfive's own servers on Amazon Web Services (AWS):
- Users can view a list of all of the recordings that they have created.
- Administrators can view a list of all the recordings made by their users.
- Users and administrators can delete recording files when necessary.
- Users can share recording files directly from Google Drive, without needing to download first.
- Your organization retains more direct control over the recording files.
- Your organization can set your own file retention policies, to be enforced by Google Drive.
Accessing the Meeting Recordings Settings
Any user who is a Highfive account Admin can access the Domain Dashboard at YourCompanyDomain.highfive.com/domain/dashboard and go to Settings > Meeting Recordings to find the following options:
The left option retains the default setting for Highfive's secure space on AWS for saving your company recordings. The meeting participant who created the recording receives a link via email that can be used to view and download the recording.
The right option is for Google Drive, which means recordings will be saved to your company's G Suite Drive, in the folder you specify and accessible by anyone in your domain who can see the folder. The meeting participant who created the recording receives a link via email to the recording file in Google Drive, where it can be viewed and managed.
Configure the Google Drive Integration
To configure the integration, the following needs to be true:
- The user configuring the setting in the Highfive domain dashboard needs to be a Highfive admin.
- The user configuring the Google Drive settings needs to be a G Suite admin.
- Pop-up blockers need to be disabled during the configuration process.
- Click Set Up on the Google Drive button. A typical "Choose an account" pop-up will appear, showing the logged-in Google users.
- Choose the user profile of the G Suite administrator.
- On the Grant Highfive permission page, click Allow.
- On the Confirm your choices page, choose Allow.
Choose the Save Location
Selecting the save folder will be influenced by which G Suite plan your company has configured. Enterprise plans have "My Drive" and "Shared drives" as shown here. Non-enterprise G Suite customers will see only "My Drive" as the save location.
For storing and sharing recordings, all that is needed is to select a folder where all recordings will be stored when a recording session is completed. If "Shared Drives" are available, it is recommended to select a shared drive folder.
Ensure that the selected folder is set to restricted access, so that most users will not be able to browse all recordings. For Shared Drives, you may wish to also choose the Google Drive setting to allow users outside your company to access the files via link.
The Google user who is used to set up the integration, as well as any administrators who should be able to view all recordings, should be explicitly listed as editors for the storage folder. For standard drive folders, this should be the Owner or Editor roles. For Shared Drives, the Contributor, Content Manager, or Manager role is required, as these roles provide edit access.
Note about Shared drive settings: To ensure successful access by Highfive and employees in the company, please be sure to enable the following two items in the Shared drive settings pop-up:
- People who aren't shared drive members can be added to files.
- Viewers and commenters can download, print, and copy files.
The configuration described above will allow easy recording sharing, while not allowing everyone to browse for everyone else's recordings. However, depending upon the requirements and desires of your organization, you may wish to set up the permissions less restrictively.
G Suite Help: For details on sharing properties and implications, please visit Set Drive users' sharing permissions at the G Suite Admin Help center, and look under "Set sharing permissions" for the subsection called "Control files stored on shared drives."
Verify Backup Option
The final prompt is to have Highfive use AWS storage as the backup, in case Google Drive is unavailable. The choices are:
- Yes, store in Highfive if Google Drive is unavailable.
- No, backup not needed.
Reasons that the Highfive Backup May Be Useful
There are several reasons that Highfive may not be able to save a recording to Google Drive and allowing the Highfive backup option can mean recordings are saved when they might otherwise be lost. Some of the situations that may cause a recording to fail to save to Google Drive include:
- Someone disallows Highfive from accessing Google Drive from the G Suite side, breaking the integration on the Google side without first changing the permissions in the Highfive dashboard.
- The folder for recordings is deleted or altered in a way such that Highfive can no longer access the location.
- Google Drive is down or the Google Drive API is unavailable, due to service issues in reaching Google from Highfive.
In the case that a recording is saved to Highfive, the user who triggered the recording will get a link to the AWS storage for the file. It can be manually downloaded and then uploaded to the G Drive folder after the service interruption is resolved.
Please disable pop-up blockers while updating recording storage settings. Google's UI includes a pop-up item that will not appear if a blocker is enabled, and that will block updates to the configuration.
When the configuration is complete, you're welcome to enable your disabled blocker(s).
Recording Ownership Emails
Google may send alerts when recordings are stored to the drive to alert relevant users that the ownership for a recording has been changed. It may look similar to this message.
There is nothing that needs to be done with these, so feel free to create a filter to mark them as read and tag/archive them as desired.